Skip to main content

About the Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)

What is the Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)?

State Testing Information for Idaho
Portions of the following material were taken from the Idaho Department of Education website. Please see our links and source sections at the bottom of the page for more details and references.

General Description of the Tests

Federally Required Assessments

  • Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)
  • Idaho Standards Achievement Tests Alternate (ISAT‐ALT)
  • Idaho English Language Assessment (IELA)
  • National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

State Required Assessments

  • Idaho Reading Indicator (IRI)
  • Direct Writing Assessment (DWA)
  • Direct Mathematics Assessments (DMA)

Practice Tests for the Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)

Our curriculum is focused around actual material that a student is likely to see on the upcoming Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT) test. Nationally known for delivering high quality and affordable materials that help students improve their scores, we provide you both paper-based instruction and easy to use online test preparation.

Packages From
Only $19.97!

More About the Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT) Tests

Assessment Information

Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)

  • Grades: 3-8, 10
  • Subjects: Reading, Language Usage, Mathematics, Science
  • Administered to students to provide ongoing monitoring of individual, school, district, and state progress

Idaho Standards Achievement Tests Alternate (ISAT‐ALT)

  • Administered and reported on all special education students who cannot participate in regular state or district-wide assessments even with accommodations

Idaho English Language Assessment (IELA)

  • Grades: K-12
  • An annual language proficiency test for all identified Limited English Proficient (LEP) Students
  • The skills of listening, speaking, reading, writing and comprehension are assessed annually to determine progress and proficiency in the English language.

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

  • Grades: 8, 12
  • Subjects: State NAEP assessments of reading, mathematics, science and writing are scheduled for odd‐numbered years, e.g., 2009, 2011, etc. In even‐numbered years, NAEP periodically conducts national assessments in the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
  • Also known as the "Nation's Report Card"
  • The only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do
  • Provides results for the nation and for the states, but does not provide results for Idaho school districts, schools, classrooms, or individual students

Idaho Reading Indicator (IRI)

  • Grades: K-3
  • The kindergarten assessment includes reading readiness and phonological awareness.
  • Grades 1, 2, and 3 test for fluency and accuracy of the student’s reading.
  • Administered three times each school year and take only ten minutes
  • Intended to be used both to help establish local curricular standards and materials as well as to provide direction for further assessment of individual children
  • Not intended to be a complete diagnostic reading test; rather, the IRI should be used to determine which children in a classroom might have additional needs in the area of reading

Direct Writing Assessment (DWA)

  • Grades: 5, 7, 9
  • Consists of one prompt that students write for ninety minutes
  • It is an assessment of standard written English.

Direct Mathematics Assessment (DMA)

  • Grades: 4, 6, 8
  • Consists of five mathematical problems for each grade

Test Descriptions

Idaho Standards Achievement Tests (ISAT)

  • Language Arts (Reading and Language Usage) Assessments

  • - Grades: 3-8, 10
    - Two separate assessments: reading and language usage
    - The reading goals and objectives are distributed among two categories: Reading Process and Comprehension / Interpretation.
    - The language usage goals and objectives are distributed among two categories: Writing Process and Writing Components.

  • Mathematics Assessment

  • - Grades: 3-8, 10
    - The goals and objectives are distributed among five categories: Number and Operations; Concepts and Principles of Measurement; Concepts and Language of Algebra and Functions; Principles of Geometry; and Data Analysis, Probability, and Statistics.

  • Science Assessment

  • - Grades: 5, 7, 10
    - The goals and objectives are distributed among five categories: Nature of Science, Physical Science, Biology, Earth and Space Systems, and Personal and Social Perspectives; Technology.

Testing Schedule


Please click the button below for information on our products: